UK Retailers and Setups

What's Hot
sundancesundance Frets: 4
edited November 2021 in Acoustics
My first post on this forum so hello to everyone and thanks for letting me join.

I've been playing acoustic guitar for over 30 years and my good wife is letting me choose my first higher-end guitar for my 50th birthday which is in a couple of months.  I'd appreciate some advice about what and where to buy with a budget of around £1k.

I play mostly folk songs, such as Paul Simon, Dylan, Nanci Griffith etc so I'm usually doing some kind of Travis-style fingerpicking.  Never plug into an amp but I'm thinking I should get a guitar with a pickup just in case I need it one day.

My current guitar is a cedar-topped dreadnought (Simon & Patrick SP6) so I'm looking at slightly smaller bodied guitars for the new one. After a lot of thought, I have pretty much decided on either a Furch Blue, Yamaha FS5 (available in a few weeks apparently) or the Yamaha FSX5 (would have to wait until Feb at least).  Would be very happy to hear any comments or suggestions about these, or any alternatives you think I should consider.

My main question, though, is about setups and UK retailers.  I live on a remote island with no easy access to luthiers or guitar techs so I would really like the retailer to do a good setup before shipping it.  I know Richard's Guitars promote this but what about the other UK stores?  I have actually been offered a discount on the FS5 or FSX5 by PMT because of a previous sale which fell through.  So, although they are not available for a while yet, I can get a decent price on these and love the look/sound of them from what I've watched online.  I've never really heard of PMT so not sure how reliable they are and if they would do a good setup.  Does anyone have experience of them and would you recommend them?

Thanks in advance for any replies.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DavidRDavidR Frets: 735