Cheap banjo for beginner ?

What's Hot
AlbertCAlbertC Frets: 932
edited November 2021 in Other Instruments
A friend wants to buy a banjo for her husband for Christmas. He's a complete beginner.
Her budget is £100 - £150 which isn't a lot but is it enough get something okay to start on?
Anyone got a recommendation or suggestion in this budget? 
Thanks in advance for any advice (and for not making any really hilarious banjo jokes)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JfingersJfingers Frets: 362
    My best mate is a real Banjo aficionado, I'll ask him when we next speak. I've been toying with the idea of an Ozark 5 string which I've seen for around your price range, or within 30 quid of it.

I have a wood bodied resonator by them, my only real complaint for the price is that one screw holding the cover plate on was all chewed up and seemingly made of cheese. I got it to add a little colour to recordings, which it does very well.

It holds it's tuning well and is tolerant of a wide range of tunings. I hope the banjos are as good, because I want more variety to my recordings, and my mate is a purist who lives over 100 miles from me.
  • MellishMellish Frets: 945
    A five-string Deering Goodtime is a good beginner banjo :) 
    Sorry, missed the budget! What style is the player interested in? Bluegrass? Clawhammer? The former has a resonator, the latter is openback and considerably lighter in weight :) 
    Given the budget, I'd advise s/h. That should bring a Deering Goodtime within range. This is a good banjo, available in resonator and openback. It's decent, plays well and would still be okay even at intermediate level :)
  • AlbertCAlbertC Frets: 932
    Cheers, although I think even a used Deering Goodtime is going to be outside of my friends budget, even if you can find one.