Thinking about buying a Midi Keyboard...

What's Hot
I fancy having a mess about with a Midi Keyboard, I have no hands on experience and have read a few articles and that's about all I know.

There are a couple which keep catching my eye the Arturia Minilab and Akai MPK Mini both have 25 key. The size appeals as I could keep it around the desk but part of me says... more keys!?

Would I end up having to start spending plenty on samples, plugins, etc or do the devices come with enough to get you going?

If I went secondhand is software transferable? 

I have Windows and Android devices when thinking of connectivity.

Any thoughts would be helpful and hopefully may help me avoiding mistakes:-)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• A large subject- a controller keyboard will probably come with a basic daw and some plugins to get you going.
    An example here https://www.andertons.co.uk/keyboards-pianos/midi-keyboards-controllers/m-audio-oxygen-49-mkv-MIDI-controller 
    If you buy secondhand then the downloads have usually been redeemed.
    if you already have a daw there are plenty of free plugins out there once you start looking.
    or very cheap try 
    https://www.pluginboutique.com/
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Thanks @midiman1962 ;
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14423
    A trained pianist is unlikely to be happy with anything less than 88 hammer action, weighted keys. 

An organist would want drawbars.

An advanced synthesist would expect aftertouch-sensitive keys and as many real time variable controls as possible.

An EDM/Beats artiste would need trigger pads. 

MIDI Controller keyboards exist with the majority of these features but they are not cheap. (IMO, aftertouch and a proper piano key action are mutually exclusive.)