Tri-tone substitutions - when to apply and what notes to solo over?

What's Hot
RelayDuzzyRelayDuzzy Frets: 5
edited February 2022 in Theory
I'm just learning about tri-tone substitutions, and from what I gather, you'd use it in place of the IV7 or V7 chord.  The result to me just looks like the root but chromatic half step down or up.
Can you only substitute the IV and V chords within a key, or can you do it for any chord? 
What about soloing over a substituted chord, can you use the original chord's notes .e.g. if it's the V7 chord being substituted of G, can you use the D7 notes over G#7 chord?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• vizviz Frets: 10681
    edited February 2022
    I don't really like the IV7 substitution, I don't find it very effective.

For the V7, it's good to explore the substitution in the context of a 251 because of the descending bassline, which is one of the things that makes it so effective: So, using Roman Numerals, in a ii-V7-I, you’re going to do a ii-bII7-I. 

And on that bII7 the best and easiest way to think of what notes to play is - either you play the notes of the substituted chord, or you play what you would have been playing over the V7 anyway. So in C major, instead of Dm-G7-C, the chords are Dm-Db7-C, and the notes to solo with over the Db7 are:

1) stick to the substituted chord's chord tones - Db, F, Ab, Cb (or B ). That's very basic, rather arpeggiated, but you can't go wrong.

2) Or if you play very simple stuff, you probably get away with playing C major throughout the 251 anyway, and you can do that over the substituted version too - it's not very interesting or musical but it works, just.