I'm a guitarist who loves dub bass
I fancy trying a 5 string, I hate single coil background noise
I wondered about a Harley Benton
My bass player mate recommends a Yamaha Precision-type model
I'd be buying used
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72253
    I have a very nice Ibanez Soundgear 5-string for sale - it's not Precision-type, but it has a front pickup (two humbuckers in fact) and active EQ... :)

It has a slim neck by 5-string standards so you'd probably find it a bit easier to adjust to coming from guitar. Not as cheap as a Harley Benton, but you're unlikely to find a better bass for less money.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24201
    I find most 5 string P basses suffer from excessive flub on the B string. Doesn't matter how much is spent on them so I suspect it's about the pickup type and position.

Reverse pickup installations where the BEA string part of the pickup is further back work far better, but something with a bridge pickup as well is better again.

The Ibanez Mezzo 5 string (32 scale) works very well (is a PJ) and if you are looking for deep dub sounds then a set of Dunlop flatwounds would be a perfect match. That's what I've got on my Mezzo 5.
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14412
    edited April 2022
    What they said.

In my opinion, Fender/Squier P Bass guitars stray out of their comfort zone when a low B string is added. (Even retuning a four string to BEAD.)