"Don't put your pick in your mouth!"

What's Hot
"Don't put this in your mouth!" my mom would always say. I always listened to mom, so when I started playing the guitar, the idea of holding my pick in my mouth to play fingerstyle never occurred to me. Instead, I practised holding my pick between my index and middle finger.

I've seen many guitarists using different techniques for holding their picks and I find that quite fascinating because everybody does it their own way.

Here's a video in which I discuss this topic. Had some beer before recording this episode, hope you won't mind my sloppy playing and speech:

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BillDLBillDL Frets: 7204
    edited May 2022
    I'm glad you mentioned Chris Buck.  Only a few hours ago I was watching a close up video of him playing in a guitar store and he has an interesting way of "palming" his pick to switch between fingers and pick, but it disables his index finger.  I am quite clumsy.  I can tuck the pick away quite quickly and keep it out the way while changing to fingerstyle, but retrieving it quickly is where i fumble.  I usually just stick it in my mouth where I can't drop it, but I would be stuck if I had to sing also.  I hate the taste that pearloid picks leave on my lips though.  I am probably poisoning myself slowly, which makes me wonder whether there was any scientific basis for Eddie van Halen's suspicion that his metal picks could have caused his tongue cancer.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28333
    On the rare occasions that I'm using a plec at all, and want it out of the way, yes I just stick it in my mouth. It's not worth me working out some fancy pants way to keep it in my hand. I am rather impressed with some people's technique to keep it in their hand though.