Practice Amps - What's the state of play?

What's Hot

Comments

• JonathangusJonathangus Frets: 4491
    I'll throw the Vox handbag Adio Air GT into the mix.
    Trading feedback | How to embed images using Imgur

As for "when am I ready?"  You'll never be ready.  It works in reverse, you become ready by doing it.  - pmbomb

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • idiotwindowidiotwindow Frets: 1391
    Probably a minority opinion but, for genuine practice at home purposes, I don't think it really matters what the amp sounds like – at least within reason. I have a couple of nice 5W valve amps that I play clean with the odd OD pedal and they both sound pretty good. However, they don't make my practice any more effective and I could just as usefully use my daughter's £50 plastic solid state starter amp if I'm just learning a new lick or the bones of a song.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RickLucasRickLucas Frets: 401
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • VimFuegoVimFuego Frets: 15483
    RickLucas said:
    that does sound good, I take it they're discontinued?

I'm not locked in here with you, you are locked in here with me.

• RickLucasRickLucas Frets: 401
    VimFuego said:
    RickLucas said:
    that does sound good, I take it they're discontinued?
    That's an old one but there is a modern Fender approximation with reverb for about £800. For that money though, you could get an original 70s one.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • Open_GOpen_G Frets: 146
    I've got the lovely little 1w Blackstar that I'm very happy with. Although at £300 for a new one they are not cheap.

I also really like the Roland Cube 10w, as a totally different option for £130- the street version is a great one man PA.
  • CleckoClecko Frets: 295