Introduce Yourself

What's Hot

Comments

• wintoidwintoid Frets: 27

Hi all,

This seems like a great site, I've been reading for a while.  I've been playing bass and synths for 40 years+ as a hobby, but usually left guitar to other people.  It's an unexplored chapter and I'm thinking about taking the plunge, possibly with a Tele of some sort.

Q1:  Where did you username come from?

Originally wintermute from a science fiction novel (Neuromancer by William Gibson), shortened to winty which became my nickname for a while, and was easier to put into high-score tables on games.  When the internet came along, there were loads of wintys, so I became wintoid, mainly for uniqueness.

Q2:  Where in the world/country are you?

West Wickham in Kent

Q3:  What's your main musical ambition?

I'd like to finish some pieces :)

Q4:  Your "best" bit of gear - just the one?

I've sold all my hardware synths several decades ago, when kids came along.  Most of my stuff is inside my computer, so there's not much choice here... just my bass (Roscoe) and my sound card (RME).... so I guess the Roscoe.

Q5:  Your #1 ever track - again, just the one?

Hmm no guitar on this, but probably Nine by Autechre.  Don't burn the witch!

Click here for my feedback
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • steve_y91steve_y91 Frets: 4
    edited June 2021
    Morning all! I've lurked a bit for a while and decided to make an account finally! I haven't played as much for the last year as covid kept me very busy at work. I've recently started getting serious about my playing again and I'm enjoying it again!

Q1: Where did your username come from?

It's my name, initial and birth year, nice and simple!

Q2: Where in the world/country are you?

Colchester, Essex

Q3: What's your main musical ambition?

To record an original track to call my own

Q4: Your "best" bit of gear - just the one?

My Telecaster. It's "only" a squire but it's a great guitar to play!