SCAMMER WARNING: Due to a spate of recent scam attempts (some successful) recently, if you're doing a deal in the classifieds, ONLY USE PAYPAL GOODS AND SERVICES UNLESS YOU KNOW THAT INDIVIDUAL PERSONALLY. It's really not worth saving a few quid.

PSA: SCAMMER on Preloved....please read and be aware

What's Hot
pruddprudd Frets: 682
edited June 2022 in Guitars £
Hi all,

I have been fucked over by a scammer scum bag on Preloved.

this is the listing, don't get drawn into it:

https://www.preloved.co.uk/adverts/show/121586592?utm_source=preloved&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=AdAlert

I have been buying and selling (a lot of) gear for 50 years and would consider myself to be fairly intelligent and have sniffed out many would be scams over the years. Sadly this time I was taken in Hook Line & Effing Sinker, and oh boy was he good at his "craft".

I wont go into the detail now, I will fill you all in later.

His name is James Martin, on his joint bank account he uses the name Stephen, he banks with Santandaer (details available if anyone wants them)

He claimed to work for a musical instrument supplier.
He claims to live in Middleton Cheney, Oxfordshire
He offers Parcel Force Insured delivery
I have his mobile number if requested.

So, please, please, avoid this listing

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Sevenof9Sevenof9 Frets: 192
    F’ sake @prudd ;
    I am really sorry to read this, I sincerely hope there is some way that your loss can be rectified
    I’m also gratified that you have taken the time to give us the heads up,you are one of the Stalwarts of this board that I have had the pleasure to meet
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TeyeplayerTeyeplayer Frets: 3377
    That’s awful, I do hope the fact you have his bank details makes things a little easier to track down and get your money back. In the meantime, we are pretty darn good with pitchforks round here. :)