Axlabs Tone Claw opinions

What's Hot
Has anyone fitted one of these to their Strat?
It looks a nice chunk of metal to replace the usual claw with

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BodBod Frets: 1432
    I'm no expert but would it make any difference given that energy would be lost through the springs anyway?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 74489
    It has the advantage of stopping the springs shifting or at worst falling off the hooks when doing extreme pull-ups on a back-routed Floyd, for which it's a good idea...

But the claims for tonal/sustain improvement are bollocks, I'm sure.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• I think the OP is right - it looks like a nice chunk of metal - that’s enough for me! 
  • BlueStratBlueStrat Frets: 1018
    I think the OP is right - it looks like a nice chunk of metal - that’s enough for me! 
    My thinking in a nutshell - it’s a nice block of shiny machined metal! That’s me sold on it already!
    It May be snake oil or May be the knee of the bee but it will look cool and mean I can be one of those guys who leave off the spring cavity cover
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 15269
    Reminds me of one end of a Tremol-No device.

Some of the minor inconveniences of a fulcrum vibrato system might be eliminated but the claimed tonal enhancement needs to be demonstrated to be believed.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • flying_pieflying_pie Frets: 1854
    the claimed tonal enhancement needs to be demonstrated to be believed.