Finishing a Guitar neck. Total Noob question?

What's Hot
Hi guys. I have a rockinger strat maple guitar neck with a maple fretboard. 100% Unfinished. No hardware or nut on it yet. I'd like to apply some kind of finish to it. e.g. some coats of linseed oil or similar would be fine. My question is do I put the same amount of finish on the fretboard as well? How many coats would you recommend giving a neck? I would guess there is no need to apply anything in the tuning peg holes or where the neck will be fixed to the body?
1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RolandRoland Frets: 9128
    There are two reasons to finish a neck. The first is to help the wood remain stable by limiting water uptake and loss as air humidity changes. The second is to help keep it clean.

I don’t like heavy finishes, so I’d wipe it with three coats of an oil/wax finish. Osmo 3032 is my favourite. If you want a thicker finish then you can add more to the back of the neck.
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • @Roland ok thanks for the info. Should I sand and coat, as I would with a body? Should I leave the heel alone, e.g. anything that will be covered by the body once bolted on?
    I’d do the heel too, otherwise it will shrink and swell as humidity changes.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Rainy day project started. So linseed oil would be the WRONG thing to use in this case?
  • pickergpickerg Frets: 30
    edited September 2022
    Slight hijack - I use a bit of tru oil on the back of my bare wood maple neck but was thinking of using wax too.

Was thinking of the stuff from Monty’s but guessing it’s something that’s just pre-packaged with a markup for the fancy packaging

Anyone know what that is or what Fender CS or Music Man use on their ‘unfinished’ necks?

Would that Osmo 3230 be the stuff to try?