Best way to make a guitar body thinner?

What's Hot
Hi, I’ve currently got my mind on an idea for a scratch build guitar which is something I’ve never done before,

im At the stage of planning every details down to what I need to do, what tools to buy and what materials to buy,

if I wanted to remove 3-5mm of the top of a guitar how can this be done accuratly without buying expensive and impressive machines to do so?
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3310
    edited October 2022 tFB Trader
    Make a box sled for your router to go on, it's easy with mdf, you'll need a more rigid piece of wood going across the box that the router sits on then a cheap orbital sander to smooth it out.

Google routing box sled
    www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • MilkMilk Frets: 84
    Thank you I’ll look into it, I’d presume it will leave a few marks but should be easily sanded out ?
    tFB Trader
    Milk said:
    Thank you I’ll look into it, I’d presume it will leave a few marks but should be easily sanded out ?
    The cheap orbital sander from screwfix will take care of the marks no problem, start at 80, 120, 180, 240, 320 to finish.
    www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14751
    edited October 2022
    Milk said:
    if I wanted to remove 3-5mm of the top of a guitar, how can this be done accurately without buying expensive and impressive machines to do so?
    CAUTION:
    5mm is approximately the thickness of the top of some guitars, with rear access control cavities, in the area where the shafts of the pots emerge. Removing that much material from the front of such guitars risks rendering the control cavity "open plan".