Tele 5-way switch mod question

What's Hot
I recently added a 5-way switch mod to my Telecaster copy, using the exact wiring shown in the below pic:

I thought it had worked out fine, but something I've just noticed is that touching the cover of the neck pickup when the switch is in positions 1 or 2 (i.e. the two new positions) causes a buzz.

Touching the neck pickup cover in positions 4 and 5 (standard Tele middle and neck positions) has the same effect as touching the strings or bridge. Touching the cover in position 3 (standard Tele bridge position) makes a very light hum, unless I'm already touching the strings or bridge.

None of this happens with the bridge pickup.

As I've never used any kind of out-of-phase mod before, I was wondering if this is normal for this kind of wiring or maybe a grounding issue.

Thanks for any help.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sixstringsuppliessixstringsupplies Frets: 430
    tFB Trader
    Apologies this is one of our diagrams - it fails to include the neck cover being separately grounded.

Disconnect the cover ground from the coil, add a new selerate ground wire, then solder this wire to the top of the volume pot.

this photo guide shows you how (scroll towards the end) https://sixstringsupplies.co.uk/pages/4-way-telecaster-wiring-mod

and apologies again - get in touch and we’ll send some freebies out to you!
    For Modders, Makers, Players

https://sixstringsupplies.co.uk/

Our YouTube Channel for handy "How-To" Wiring Tutorials
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • NeilybobNeilybob Frets: 947
    I recently installed a 5 way tele wiring harness from Bloodstone and it advise that I had to cut or remove the ground wire from the standard tele bridge pickup for all positions to work properly. 

Trading feedback - https://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/228538/neilybob

flanging_fed “