Les Paul Special kit?

What's Hot
I've had a hankering for a Les Paul Special for years (the one with P90's), mostly because I love the tone people like Steve Hunter and Johnny Thunders used to get from them. However, every time I try one I'm always put off by the baseball-bat style 50's neck profile. Even the Eastman SB55 has the same issue. So I had a thought: why not build one myself? I have built plenty of Fender type guitars over the years, but I've never done a set-neck before, and I've never had to cut my own fret slots - I would usually buy a neck for a build, and then do all the routing and body cutting myself (I have a workshop). So my next thought was: is it possible to get a kit? After a bit of googling, it wasn't hard to find one, but the quality always looks very dodgy to me. Most people selling such kits seem to assume that everyone wants something that is cheap, cheap, cheap - but that's not what I'm looking for. Does anyone have any recommendations? Ideally for a good quality body blank, and a decent neck to fit it. Everything else, I can do myself.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14832
    zedhex said:
    … I love the tone people like Steve Hunter and Johnny Thunders used to get from them … baseball-bat style 50's neck profile.
    These two things might be connected. 
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • paulnb57paulnb57 Frets: 3112
    Id ask Graham @GSPBASSES if he could make me one..

I had a hankering for a Melody Maker (ish) LP and he made me this, its superb

Stranger from another planet welcome to our hole - Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock 'n' roll

0reaction image LOL 3reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • TTonyTTony Frets: 28088
    I’d normally ask Graham too, though not sure if he’s spending much time in his workshop at the moment.

I’ve got a couple if his LPJrs, and they are just brilliant.