Using an iPad for live sampling vocals

What's Hot
ijontyijonty Frets: 32
Hi folks

I want to use the SampleWiz app to do something similar to this video, though not the same song:

TLDWatch: I need the vocal to go into an iPad, then out comes the vocal and the sampled bits of that vocal in real time. Perhaps it's no different to using the iPad as an effect pedal.

I've never used a tablet for this sort of thing, so what's the best way to connect everything up? Mic to iPad to PA? Split the Mic to PA and iPad, then both to PA?

I'm a beginner with live stuff, so any help appreciated!

Telecaster American Deluxe, Cornell Romany amp, without the talent to use them properly
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Would alwys recommend a split if you have the channels, gives you more control over effected signal 
    www.maltingsaudio.co.uk
  • ijontyijonty Frets: 32
    And what interface thingy would I need to allow me to do that? Something that will feed the mic into the iPad then out again. Anything you recommend?

J

Telecaster American Deluxe, Cornell Romany amp, without the talent to use them properly
    <bump> Can anyone help?

• shufflebeatshufflebeat Frets: 105
    edited January 16
    Lots of decent, well priced audio interfaces will connect to the iPad just like a PC/Mac if you have the right cables.

Focusrite are often the first choice. The magic phrase (I believe) is “class compliant”.

https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/focusrite-scarlett-4th-gen

Mic > I/F > iPad > I/F > PA.

Mic signal is “virtually” split, one sent straight to output > PA, the other through your chosen app and then output > PA so no reason to do a separate split unless you want to further process separately at the PA or don’t want to hear the processed vocal in your monitor.

I’d also budget for a line isolator like the ART DTI to electrically separate the I/F from the PA.

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27724