How do you hold your pick?

What's Hot
bobblehatbobblehat Frets: 562
edited June 20 in Technique
In  a bid to improve my playing recently I've been watching a fair few youtube vids. One thing I've noted is that almost everyone holds the pick with a closed hand. ( Middle, ring and little finger tucked in, if that makes sense). 
I've been playing for 35+ years but have always had an open hand and used my little and ring fingers as a kind of anchor.
I'm completely self taught so just did what came naturally at the time and have never been shown any other way.

This has got me wondering if this has held my playing back in some way ? Does it make a difference? 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fastonebazfastonebaz Frets: 4196
    I find holding it closed hand way gives much greater speed.
  • HootsmonHootsmon Frets: 16160
    edited June 20
    People have the style peculiar to themselves and I would go with that

What works for Joe Bloggs may not work for you

Have a look at Steve Morse's picking hand, it looks like a bag of shit and as awkward as they come, yet he does things with choice of strokes that most of us cannot do, including Troy Grady

Same with Pat Metheny....if you had the volume down you'd swear he was an amateur with his picking style and geeky method
    but he is arguably the most fluent jazz player out there

My 2 cents...35 plus years? stick with it bud
    tae be or not tae be
  • nero1701nero1701 Frets: 1579
    I hold mine with my middle finger and thumb asif I was making a fox silhouette, partially due to my fore finger not bending well and having had surgery on the other 2.
  • LionAquaLooperLionAquaLooper Frets: 1430
    There's no right or wrong way.  Look at Zakk Wylde and Marty Friedman as further examples.  Makes me cringe when i watch their picking hands but whatever works for them.