Fully floating Trems

What's Hot
grungebobgrungebob Frets: 3477
Hey all, 
im a trem novice, have limited experience of the basics like a bigsby and the fender vintage trems but recently been thinking about a new instrument and the ones I’ve seen that pique my curiosity all seem to have the modern Gotoh 510 series trems that appear to be fully floating. 
I like to go from standard tunings to drop tunings a fair bit and I was just thinking wouldn’t this mess my tuning up? 
On a fender I always have it resting on the body so drop D isn’t an issue but on something like the DK Charvels my guess is this dropping the E down would affect the rest no?
aside from devices like the Tremel-No ( or however it’s spelled) is there a way to have down only ?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• StevepageStevepage Frets: 3167
    edited September 20
    Yes tuning to drop D from standard E would affect the tuning of the rest of the strings, due to difference in tension knocking everything else sharp. 

Tremol No units work ok (not a fan myself, I don't think they're very good) but you can also get other things such as the Engl Hardtailer. 

This would give you the option to have full float or down only.
  • If you do lots of drop d tuning then a d-tuna on a floyd could work a-la EVH/ peavey wolfgangs but they do limit the upward movement of the trem if the rear rout isn’t sufficient to accommodate it.
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 15222
    Stevepage said:
    Tremol No units work ok.
    I beg to differ. 

The Tremol-No almost always fails to do what it says on the tin. I only use them to permanently block off a vibrato that cannot be fixed any other way. e.g. The design used on Yamaha YSG and some SG_____T guitars.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 74393