The cricket thread

What's Hot

Comments

• guitars4youguitars4you Frets: 15374
    tFB Trader
    rsvmark said:
    Going to the test at Edgbaston. Kinda sad not to see Jimmy but I am no expert. Atkinson did well through. Judging from the first test, glad I had tix for day 2!
    Glad you have day 2 - Subject to weather you should get a full day

Just been offered day 4 at Trent bridge at a good price but turned them down based on it will be all over before then 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11716
    crunchman said:
    scrumhalf said:
    What are the odds on Jimmy being called out of retirement later in the summer for one last hurrah?

Will be embarassing for them if he outbowls Woakes in the first test, which is highly likely.  Both of them are probably past their best, but Anderson's best was on a different level to Woakes.  He's also got a much better record overseas so he would make more sense as a mentor to the younger guys on tour.  If you are going to keep one older bowler in to guide the young fast bowlers, Anderson makes more sense.
    Isn't Anderson joining the coaching setup?

Not the same as fielding at mid on and being able to talk the younger bowlers through the game.

It's worth having a veteran in the team alongside the younger bowlers.  I just don't see the sense of it being Woakes rather than Anderson.  If the supposed reason for forcing Anderson to retire is that he won't be there for the next Ashes, then that goes for Woakes as well.  He's already 35, and on top of that, he's not got a good record overseas.
  • rsvmarkrsvmark Frets: 1459
    Is there any reason why it’s a 3 test series?
    An official Foo liked guitarist since 2024
    tFB Trader
    rsvmark said: