Harmonica Players

What's Hot
Ive decided to lay off the guitar for a bit as recent health issues mean my coordination is all over the place plus I get painful tendonitis in my left arm when Im playing so recently picked up a Marine Band Harp and a couple of bluesy harp books. So far Im getting a half way decent noise out of it :)

Anyone else on the forum play harmonica?

Twisted Imaginings - A Horror And Gore Themed Blog http://bit.ly/2DF1NYi

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• chillidoggychillidoggy Frets: 17140
    No, but I'd like to learn to play one.

• TheBlueWolfTheBlueWolf Frets: 1536
    So far it seems fairly simple. The challenges for me as a total noob is remembering when to breathe in and out and the fact that of the 3 books Ive got 1 has a different way of notating when to breathe in/out. Otherwise its a lot of fun :D

• SassafrasSassafras Frets: 30358
    I've played harmonica for years. I found listening to good players a lot more helpful than any books.
    I was in a band with a really good player and he gave me some handy tips as well.
    There are quite a few forums as well that cover all the different techniques developed over the years.
    The Marine Band is the best one to start with. Easy to hold and simple to play.
  • SassafrasSassafras Frets: 30358
    Once you get right into harmonica, it becomes quite addictive and you'll end up wanting to buy them in different keys.
  • Apparently you have to play in a different key to play in the same key as everyone else ...
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • stimpsonslostsonstimpsonslostson Frets: 5424
    edited August 2015
    Phil_aka_Pip;734326" said:
    Apparently you have to play in a different key to play in the same key as everyone else ...