Who really does not like office work ?

What's Hot
I read a comment about office work , its a collection of individuals who pretty much dont like each other pretending that they do. Ive been in office work since the early 90s and i dont like it at all. Ive seen the whole spectrum from bitching, office bores, gossip spreading, rumour starting, jealousy, brown nosing etc etc.  Add to this the xmas dinner which nobody wants to go to, power point presentations and office team building days.........oh boy !

For the same money i would take a job delivering the post gladly. Anyone else not like office work and why ?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• HeartfeltdawnHeartfeltdawn Frets: 22562
    I've been a chef for about half of my working adult life with periods of leaving for office work. When people say they hate the hours, I laugh in contempt. I've never had to pull triple figure hour weeks when working in an office or gone home in a shirt and tie that smells of fay fryers.  

The real difference beside hours is freedom of speech. I've found kitchens to be honest places when it comes to chefs (management on the other hand...). If you have an argument, you say your shit, you sort it out, you move on. Kitchen politics get sorted quickly: office politics is far more slow burning and tedious. 

So perhaps the problem with the office is the false camaraderie. 

• I lasted 5 days in my only ever office job. 
    It was well paid and there was nothing "wrong" with it except that I found it soul destroying to sit at the same desk all day tapping on a keyboard like I was being battery farmed.
    I didn't stay long enough for office politics etc to become a factor, but MrsLostSon works for a big bank and often tells me horror stories about that sort of thing.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • TelejesterTelejester Frets: 743