Suggestion on the Tributes thread

What's Hot
SunDevilSunDevil Frets: 511
edited July 2020 in Help & Feedback
I and a number of other folks posted Peter Green threads into the Gear > Guitar section last night and that obviously caused some frustration with the modmins

I think the issues here were twofold

1) Nowhere obvious section for a thread of a very famous guitarist passing (you have to really look to find Chat > Off Topic > Tributes.)
      I'm on here a lot and I see that I didn't even know it existed -  It seems I'm not the only one
     Sub-folders don't appear on all pages and browsers, so it's not a gimme that people will be as aware of it, as the folders that get the main traffic

2) Because threads were being moved and deleted, it created a loop. If there's 40-odd Users on here at any given time, then 23 is a decent enough percentage to suggest we can't all be total numpties

I'm a site admin on a number of my company's applications, so believe me I get the frustration caused when multiple people do the same well intended but stupid things, that requires clean up work and setup tweaks

In that context, please take the below suggestion in the constructive way it which it's intended

Peter Green was a pretty big name, but there are others who are even better known. Statistically speaking at least, many may not be with us in 10 years time (..apart from Keef, Keef will of course outlive us all)

Just like the passing of a Senior Royal, some of these guys have a profile which transfers over into the general public consciousness. They may well find themselves looking for an outlet for very genuine grief and in some cases, they may want to join and post on a forum where they haven't previously.

Clearly that presents both a challenge and an opportunity to the forum 

So how about re-naming Tribute 'Guitarist / Musician Tributes' and moveing it up to the top level of Chat, to nip any further issues in the bud?

The answer was never 42 - it's 1/137 (..ish)