Anyone tried/ used/ owned a Tech 21 Trademark 60?

What's Hot
RocknRollDaveRocknRollDave Frets: 6949
Mate of mine just posted this on Facebook, and, as I have no experience of (or, indeed, knowledge of whatsoever) these amps, thought I'd put it out there for opinions etc:

"Has anyone ever played through a Tech 21 amp?

Seriously thinking about switching to a Trademark 60 for gigging - anyone tried??"

If it helps, he plays a variety of guitars - LP's, Tele, Gretsch Duo Jet - and tends to play either just on the cusp of breakup or just into slight crunch, with an EQ pedal for boost for solos, generally speaking.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• stefjuddstefjudd Frets: 41
    I owned one years and years back. I remember that it sounded great, very versatile but didn't have enough power to keep up with the loud drummer I was gigging with at the time. I ended up selling it and I got a Tech 21 head which was damaged when it arrived but sounded awesome! Had to send it back due to the damage though and at the time Thomann had no more in stock so got something else... Might be worth checking out for smaller gigs!...
    Hope that helps!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 74497
    A lot of people like them and seem to rate them highly.

To me they sound quite harsh and boxy - although the clean sound is far better than the overdrive, which has an odd nasal tone to it that doesn't seem to be possible to dial out completely.

I'd guess if you like the typical sound of a small, midrangy overdriven valve amp they're probably quite good. If you like the sound of a big, deep clean or heavy crunchy valve amp they definitely aren't, in my opinion.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski