Fender Vintera Road Worn 60s Strat - any experiences?

What's Hot
As per the title - would be really interested to hear anybody's experiences with the new 60s Vintera Road Worns - particularly the Andertons special edition with the Pure Vintage pickups.

I'm pretty tempted, but beyond the issue of the instant depreciation (one reason I usually buy used), I'm slightly wary that Pau Ferro boards often look stripy and/or reddish, and wonder whether the relicing job might look a bit 'obvious' in-the-flesh.  I'm trying to decide between getting one of these and spending a bit more on a used American reissue.  I have an AVRI Jazzmaster and an AO Tele (both bought used), and would like a Strat that's at least in the same ball-bark in terms of general quality and playability.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1826
    I know it’s been highlighted here before but I just can’t see why a cosmetic feature should take such a precedence over a great guitar. I have a vintera but not a road worn, with a Pau ferro board and it just plays fine and nothing wrong with it. I can’t fathom why someone wouldn’t buy it just because of the colour etc. I wouldn’t buy another tobacco burst guitar again probably but it won’t detract my appreciation of a guitar. It’s just my preference after owning guitars that were always tobacco sunbursts. I think I’ve over done it lol. 

As I always say try one and judge then not by what others preferences are. You may like it like I did/ I do 
    Link to my trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/59452/
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom