Very Late to the Party

What's Hot
GrumpyrockerGrumpyrocker Frets: 4118
So I've been playing guitar off and on for just over 30 years. I've got around seven electric guitars, three amps, a box pedals and various other bits and bobs. And guitars and amps I've owned and sold. 

But it has taken the last month for me to buy two of the staples of many a player. 

I finally bought my first Tube Screamer (well a Mooer copy) and an EQ pedal. 

Rather bonkers I've gone so long without either. But I finally saw the need (unlike the many frivolous purchases of years past) and they've helped me find THE sound. The EQ pedal arrived today and bunging that in the loop of my Blackstar HT5 has been a revelation. 

So was wondering. Anyone else spent their playing life never using something others would see as essential? What gear have you never even tried? What gear did you come very late to as I did? What do you never feel the need to try?

In my case I realise there is a couple of amps in my past I'd wish I had never sold; especially now knowing what a TS and EQ pedal can do for them. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ChuffolaChuffola Frets: 2014
    I could do with a lesson on the value of an EQ pedal. I’ve no idea what frequencies to boost or cut to achieve a particular sound.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71960
    Compressor
    Clean boost
    EQ pedal
    ‘Transparent’ overdrive
    Overdrive used to ‘push’ an amp

Tried all of these and found them uninspiring at best, or actively interfere with how I want to sound at worst.

I wouldn’t say I’ll never find one that works for me, but up to now I really don’t understand what so many people see in them.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand." - Homer Simpson