Advice on increasing fretting hand speed and synchronisation

What's Hot
I have been playing for around 3 years, I can play loads of songs and solos but anything with any fast parts I struggle getting up to speed. It's like my fingers will go no faster.

Anyone got any good drills to do to work on speed with my fretting hand, picking hand and synchronisation between the two to get my speed up.

As an example, I can play Ace of Spades really well except the solo, I can play it at 80% no issue but can't make that 20% jump as there is one fast lick near the start that I just can't do fast enough.

Thanks
Chris

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fastonebazfastonebaz Frets: 4087
    I found by looking at pick grip styles online and changing how i held my pick suddenly my picking speed increased massively.  Really does make a big difference how you hold it.  Once I was flowing with my pick grip and picking motion I was able to practice syncing much more successfully as I wasn't straining to keep up anywhere.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • I'm going to say it before anyone else does. Practice.

There really is no substitute, no short cut, no magic technique, no silver bullet and no internet course that will make it happen. You need to be playing, little and often sat in front of the tv, when you get up in the morning, when you finish work, after you finish dinner!

Yes it's a pain but there is no other way.

Good luck!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • DeeTeeDeeTee Frets: 764
    I found by looking at pick grip styles online and changing how i held my pick suddenly my picking speed increased massively.  Really does make a big difference how you hold it.  Once I was flowing with my pick grip and picking motion I was able to practice syncing much more successfully as I wasn't straining to keep up anywhere.
    Was this Troy Grady or something else?