Recommendations - guitar repair / maintenance courses

What's Hot
So, a quick bit of background...

I've been working on and setting up my own guitars for over 25 years, and although self taught I'm confident doing this. I've also worked on guitars for friends.

What I'd like to do is to be able to offer my services on a part time / semi professional level. However, I have one key gap in my experience and that's fret work - I've done odd little bits on my own guitars but wouldn't want someone else to trust their pride and joy to me without getting a bit of training in this area.

I know places like Mark Bailey and Crimson do guitar making courses and I've seen other places offering entry level basic set up workshops but I think what I'm looking for is something in between where I can develop more technical confidence in setting up (rather than just doing it intuitively) and also focus on fret work.

Anyone have any experience or suggestions?

I'm in Nottingham, so unless it was a 1 day, weekend or couple of days type thing, it would need to be within reasonable travel from me.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• M1ckM1ck Frets: 231
    Shuker any good to you? Should be a bit closer than Bailey or Crimson.
    I hope to do one of the maintenance workshops later in the year!
    Check the link out below (nearer the bottom of the page) I bought a tele of Jon Shuker a little while ago and the fretwork (to me) seems great.
    https://shukerguitars.co.uk/luthiery-courses/

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • barnsleyboybarnsleyboy Frets: 39