Ian Elson Guitars - AVOID!!

What's Hot
jimcroisdalejimcroisdale Frets: 38
edited June 2021 in Guitar
Hi all,

I'm a guitar tech based in Leeds. A client of mine bought a custom guitar from Ian Elson, a guitar maker from the Norwich area.

All I can say is that it's been a total disaster, and one that I wouldn't want anyone else to have to go through. I've written a blog on my website about it that you can read here:

https://jimsguitarworkshop.co.uk/2021/05/26/avoid-ian-elson-guitars/

TL;DR - AVOID IAN ELSON GUITARS!

Cheers,

Jim
1reaction image LOL 21reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• grungebobgrungebob Frets: 3299
    Blimey. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6378
    Holy moley !
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback
  • stonevibestonevibe Frets: 7080
    He looks like a trustworthy business...

Win a Cort G250 SE Guitar in our Guitar Bomb Free UK Giveaway 

• JetfireJetfire Frets: 1687
    I've been following him for a while on FB and I like the look of his builds, very stripped back and very simplistic but I'll have a read of this
  • Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7731
    I have seen so many custom/DIY builds that look great in photos and when you pick it up in person it's pretty crude. This is a bit worse than that when you look at the nut and bridge and the top finish edge is the most boggling
  • uksaint7uksaint7 Frets: 308
    But apart from that it was ok?
    25reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • GrumpyrockerGrumpyrocker Frets: 4118
    Me opening the thread. "Surely this is just nitpicking and scene drama, I'll just read the link....."

YIKES what a dog. It looks like I'd made it.

4reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Bennyboy-UKBennyboy-UK Frets: 1710
    That’s blurring the line between handmade and homemade pretty badly.