Synth advice please

What's Hot
Hi all,

As a complete newb to the world of synths, I recently got a Komplete Kontrol A25 which is great and really versatile software synth, does most of I want in terms of recording in Reaper, however......I now need a hard synth, the madness has begun.

I'm leaning towards a Behringer Pro 1 as mostly interested in soundscapes and Ozrics or the Orb type sounds, building background etc, not acid house!

So the question is that I will need a keyboard for a Pro 1 but is it totally necessary or will it be easy to use the A25?

Or........what else should I be looking at with say a £700 budget?

Cheers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TeleMasterTeleMaster Frets: 10103
    I have a cobalt 8 and it’s excellent. The deepmind12 also looks great. 
  • StratavariousStratavarious Frets: 3596
    edited May 2021
    Deepmind 12, Korg prologue 16.. for the analog stuff.

or a couple of the cheaper Yamaha reface units - the CS.

We have an Arturia microfreak in the band which can do a lot. 

Perhaps scope to get two or three for £700

but... today, the iPad and a few of the synth apps could be best use of money.. Korg got a lot of their classics synths emulated and apps like Korg gadget are packed with cool stuff.  The free Synth One is pretty cool.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33725

This.
  • Deepmind 12, Korg prologue 16.. for the analog stuff.

or a couple of the cheaper Yamaha reface units - the CS.

We have an Arturia microfreak in the band which can do a lot. 

but... today, the iPad and a few of the synth apps could be best use of money.. Korg got a lot of their classics synths emulated and apps like Korg gadget are packed with cool stuff.  The free Synth One is pretty cool.

I'd second Synth One, The Moog simulation apps are pretty good too and are sometimes on offer/free if you want some cheap classic analogue sounds.