SCAMMER WARNING: Due to a spate of recent scam attempts (some successful) recently, if you're doing a deal in the classifieds, ONLY USE PAYPAL GOODS AND SERVICES UNLESS YOU KNOW THAT INDIVIDUAL PERSONALLY. It's really not worth saving a few quid.

WTB, A Mac of some sort

What's Hot
keithfkeithf Frets: 371
Looking for something cheap and cheerful.  I've never used one before.
Just needs to be able to run hx edit and maybe some sort of daw. I'm thinking maybe an imac or maybe a mini that I can add my own monitor to. 
Some advice would be useful.let me know what you have.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• keithfkeithf Frets: 371
    Sounds like a great piece of kit.
  • BenBen Frets: 114
    keithf said:
    Sounds like a great piece of kit.
    I highly recommend the M1 Mac Mini. I picked one up and it blows away the Intel 8-Core Mac Pro it replaced. They're usually on offer every few weeks on Amazon.
  • spark240spark240 Frets: 2073
    Be mindful that there is some software still not fully compatible with the M1 

Mac Mini M1
    Presonus Studio One V5
     https://www.studiowear.co.uk/ -
     https://twitter.com/spark240
     Facebook - m.me/studiowear.co.uk
    Reddit r/newmusicreview 
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10357
    As good as the M1 mini is it does cost £600 and then you need a monitor. 

A 10 year old iMac cost around £150 and will do what you need. I have 5 of them, all doing various things but the one I use as a DAW is a 2007 so pretty old but has no problem running 30 odd tracks in Protools, did a whole album on it recently. 
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
    Sounds ideal for what I need. 
    Looks like I missed a few around here
  • stonevibestonevibe Frets: 7082
    I would add that if you buy a used Mac and need to run up to date editors for Line 6 and DAWs, then don't buy anything over 3-4 years old.