UK Radio Frequency usage, licensing and policing (inears mics advice request)

What's Hot
JMP220478JMP220478 Frets: 421
edited July 2021 in Live
Building up ch38 based / GB legal 606 -648mhz  based in ears / mic setup - to date used sparingly at rehearsal n at home - but aware licenses are required for legal use though finding  ofcom site / pmse and indeed various manufacturers usage pdfs at times  confusing . 
 Any advice appreciated 
1. Licenses / device. Or per user or per band ?
2. for kit sitting in licensed for event or venue (coordinated site specific ranges ) - how does that work ?
3. as a non pa hire user /owner  - am I really over concerned ? 
4. Has anyone ever found themselves being contacted over unlicensed legal frequency use or indeed unlicensed coordinated site specific kit ? 

Cheers for looking and any info shared 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• bob21bob21 Frets: 170
    I do this for a living.. though most of my coordinations run well into 3 figure quantities of mics and IEMs! 

So the headline is, to use Ch 38 (606-614 MHz) you require a UK Shared license.. You buy these online, £75 a year or £140 for 2 years. 
    These license the licensee to operate all compliant PMSE (programme making and special events equipment (radio mics, IEMs) at 10mW EIRP (standard power on most kit); anywhere in the UK. 

This spectrum is ‘shared’ ie you have no priority over other users, and no guarantees - but it is cheap, and you can stick 12ish mics in the channel, so you can usually make this work if there’s another band with stuff etc.. 

In terms of licensed sites.. Ch38 is still available to you, and a licensee of a site or specific license can’t forbid you from transmitting inside Ch38.. What they may do however, is choose to assign you a frequency from within their licensed allocation (this is what we do at big festivals, to make sure everything plays nicely together!)