Cakewalk and associated needs ?

What's Hot
Hi all, 
I want to start some 'one man band' recording and then stitch together with a video to be able to start some 'showcase' type performance to put on a youtube channel - I am an amateur and forever beginner guitarist primarily !!!!
I have a Scarlet focusrite and a windows laptop. Also have headphones/monitor speakers if needed as well.
I am advised that Cakewalk will be a 'good for beginners and beyond' place to be - it has to be straightforward for my PC level, for the music recording where I want to concentrate first - making some sort of video can come later.
Just looked at the Cakewalk website, and already unsure of what I should be downloading/buying there.
Can anyone give me a brief, simpletons, step by step guide to getting myself up and running.
Much appreciated ..

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• CirrusCirrus Frets: 8481
    Cakewalk is a free DAW, I think you just need to set up a Bandlab account and download their installer to get it.

About three years ago, cakewalk was a company owned by Gibson which developed the Sonar DAW, which was a decent if slightly buggy DAW that cost a fair amount of money. Gibson led them to bankruptcy, at which point Bandlab bought the product and made it free... And by most accounts I've read, more stable. It doesn't have the big library of bundled instruments and effects that the old Sonar X Professional did, though.

And slightly confusingly, the old Cakewalk website is still in operation, allowing those who have paid copies of now defunct cakewalk software to authorise their licenses etc.

Personally I'd look at the cheaper version of Studio One if I thought I'd like something that's still in continual development/ has more professional bundled effects etc in the upgraded versions, but if you want to start with a free and will featured DAW Cakewalk by Bandlab is a fine way to dip your toes in.