Any recommendations for spray can lacquer?

What's Hot
.... other than nitro cellulose?

I've used Nitro for all my guitars so far, and they have all had an aged look. I want to do something with a more modern, thick shiny and polished finish. Just wondering what I should be looking at? 

I've never tried a shiny, polished finish before, is is a world of pain? Anything one should know? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• munckeemunckee Frets: 12687
    If your.handy with a spray can you can get a good finish with halfords spray paint and gloss poly. The hard but is sanding it flat and buffing it properly. 
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8903
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
  • SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7229
    tFB Trader
    Thanks @Roland but OP doesn't want cellulose. 

It is possible to get a very shiny finish with cellulose though! 
  • elstoofelstoof Frets: 2632
    2K poly spray is often used on bikes and things for that hard plasticky finish
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28356
    Thanks @Roland but OP doesn't want cellulose. 

It is possible to get a very shiny finish with cellulose though! 
    yeah I just feel like trying something different. I get all my cellulose from you of course!
  • paulnb57paulnb57 Frets: 3124
    I don't like Halfords colour cans but the satins and the lacquers are pretty good
    Stranger from another planet welcome to our hole - Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock 'n' roll

• WezVWezV Frets: 17169
    paulnb57 said:
    I don't like Halfords colour cans but the satins and the lacquers are pretty good
    Yeah, not used them for years but tried a few times early on for "convenience".  I always found the colours far too soft.  I had one I was sure was ready, passed the fingernail test, then I left it on a table overnight and it had a perfect imprint of the tablecloth.