No longer 1Q22 Challenge - but my first kit build now finished

What's Hot
Cig35Cig35 Frets: 65
edited June 2022 in Making & Modding
OK, not really entering the challenge but it's gives me a reason to document my first kit build and a place for me to ask lots of stupid questions.

So I ordered a Harley Benton "Jazzmaster" kit that arrived today.
Body looks OK. There are some black marks on it probably from when it's been clamped down for machining. So if I go for a natural finish I will have to sand it down, which I would have to do anyway since the wood sealer is unevenly applied and can be seen quite clearly. The body is surprisingly light.

The neck seems fine, and the frets are almost OK. A little bit uncomfortable on the edges but I can sort that out. It also fits quite tightly in the neck pocket so that is good.

The pickguard I got looks much better than the picture Thomann have on their website

Since it's my first build the plan is to assemble it as it is without any modifications and after that decide on if any modifications are needed. Right now the next steps will be to go through all the bits and pieces and check that they are OK and nothing is missing. I also need to decide on a headstock shape and what finish/colour to use.

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• andy_kandy_k Frets: 834
    I'm not normally a JM fan, but that looks like a nice kit.
    I'd go for an off white / cream for the body, possibly lightly relic'd, and a standard large headstock.
    good luck.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Very cool, looking forward to seeing how it turns out! 
  • Cig35Cig35 Frets: 65
    Thanks for the comments. I've been working around 15 hours all days since my opening post so there has not been much progress until this weekend when I had some time available to start with the kit, but not really much progress