Push-pull pot wiring

What's Hot
Hi all,
I'm finishing up a Stratocaster build and need a little help with the wiring.

Hoping to end up with an HSS strat (1 volume, 2 tone knobs) which I can coil split the Humbucker using a push-pull pot (on the 2nd tone knob) so that my 2nd position sound can be either humbucker + middle or coil split humbucker + middle. 

I have a 5 way switch, 2 regular pots (b250k) and 1 push-pull pots (b500k). I will also order some 0.022uf / 0.047uf capacitors as advised.

Pickups will be:
- Neck - Fender Pure Vintage 59 single coil
- Middle - Fender '54 custom shop single coil
- Bridge - Seymour Duncan JB humucker

I have no wiring experience so if anyone could help me with advise on how I should connect all of these I would be extremely grateful! (I've tried to label each connection point below to make it easier to explain).

Pics:

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JonathangusJonathangus Frets: 4436
    This has the push-pull on the volume, but the principle is the same:

Trading feedback | How to embed images using Imgur

As for "when am I ready?"  You'll never be ready.  It works in reverse, you become ready by doing it.  - pmbomb

• ICBMICBM Frets: 71963
    edited August 2022
    As you probably expect, it makes no difference to the pot wiring if you use the push-pull for the bridge tone, the rest of the connections are still the same.

First, if your pots are all B (linear) they won't work properly as tone controls. This might not be a problem if you don't use them as 'normal' tones but just want to have the rolled-right-down sound or 'hand wah'. (Or don't use them at all but want the guitar to look right .)

In the diagram, the tone caps are the wrong way round - the .022 should be for the humbucker and the .047 for the single coils. (NB, the correct values are .022uF and .047uF, not 0.22uF and 0.47uF.)