School Me On Speakers

What's Hot
AdjiAdji Frets: 156
in Amps tFB Trader
So I have experimented with just about everything at great length in my rig but ever taken much thought of speakers. I've always been a kinda of 'that'll do' guy when it comes to speakers.

For several years I have actually been using Marshall 'Gold Back' speakers. I think I like them because they don't produce a great deal of low end and the mid is quite prominent. In the past I've tried V30s (not a big fan although they do make you stand out) and Rocket 50s.

So, what should I be looking for? I have a V30 lying around and I'm considering putting it back in the 2x12 and mixing it with something else, perhaps the classic GH50?

It is something I've never taken much interest in so treat me like a total noob. I like the Marshalls, but if these are crap speakers then I'm wondering just how good my rig would sound with good speakers? 

Comments

• Dave_McDave_Mc Frets: 2462
    What is your rig?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • VoxmanVoxman Frets: 4972
    edited September 2014

I have a Marshall Goldback in my JCM2000 DSL401.  These are not thought that well of on the Marshall Forum, although its been adequate for my purposes.  However, I might change it in the future.

Speakers are very personal and everyone will have their own preferences. In addition to sounding very different tone wise, some speakers will break up earlier than others (the point at which you start to get distortion from the speaker) and some speakers will be louder than others. Their loudness is nothing to do with the speakers power rating eg 60w - that merely relates to how much power they can handle.  So, if you have a 50w amp, you'll typically need at least a 50w speaker although its usual to have a speaker a little higher eg 60-75w for 'safety', although most speakers are conservatively rated anyway.