My First Build: A Bolt Guitars Thunder Road (T-Style)

What's Hot
SteveFSteveF Frets: 543
edited June 2023 in Making & Modding
Most of you will have seen @TTony and his thread about building one of these, so hopefully this isn’t too much repetition.  

I have never built a guitar or partscaster before but always been keen to try.  Full courses have been prohibitive from a time and cost perspective and I have always been put off by kits, assuming that they were not of great quality.  I had thought about a partscaster but every time I costed one up it seemed like I’d be spending a lot of money and ended up just buying something close-ish to what I was after from one of the usual brands. So when @BoltGuitarsUK posted on here and offered an introductory discount for tFB members, I thought I would finally have a go.  The fact that they looked like they were good quality, decent design, with everything needed in one box, including the finish, really appealed. I had a look at the first couple of videos online and thought they were really well done and easy to follow.  That made my mind up. 

ParcelForce did make an effort to ruin my plans by throwing the box around a bit and it arrived a bit bashed up but everything inside was so well packed that it all survived unscathed.  My only criticism from the packaging was that the cardboard mount that holds the turners wasn’t too secure, so a few tuners had broken free in their battle with Parcel Force and were rattling around a bit inside.  No damage to anything though as everything that could have got damaged was so well packed.  I did pass a bit of feedback to Sam and the guys at Bolt and I noticed from @TTony ’s video and a couple of other posts I have seen on Facebook that they have started wrapping that part up to keep everything together.  Excellent response to feedback.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SteveFSteveF Frets: 543