3D printing for a one handed guitarist

What's Hot
joeyowenjoeyowen Frets: 4026
Firstly, sorry for putting it in OT, that's purely for best responses, might have been better in making.modding, we'll see

I work in a college teaching ICT thing, including modelling and 3d printing, and we have the opportunity to do some good for a learner!

There is a guitarist in the music dept who has lost his right forearm and hand so although he continues to play, he uses his arm to strum so lacks a lot of definition, and certainly can't play individual strings.

So our plan is, to 3D print an attachment so he can 'hold' a pick on his strumming arm to help him play strings and clearer (well, we hope so)

So the idea is, take a 'sock' like fabric on his arm, pierce a hole and have a holder pertruding through for the pick.  My current thought is along these lines:  As you can see, I'm not an artist ;)

He would like to be able to change picks (which might be just a case of printing multiple holders for each thickness)

So in short, anyone got any suggestions or experience with this sort of thing?  It may be a long shot, but anything you can suggest may help!

0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• joeyowenjoeyowen Frets: 4026
    Another note, I know the pick is shown as straight there, but I'll meet with the learner to see what angle would be best to have
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • speshul91speshul91 Frets: 1397
    Not had any experience myself as such but I remember a busker we used to have in Nottingham the same, he used to attach playing cards to his stump with elastic bands to strum, might give some inspiration.
  • NomadNomad Frets: 549

The sock idea looks like it might not be very stable, although it maybe depends on what the sock is made of and how it's attached. I'd be tempted to consider a refinement of the elastic band idea - something held on with some kind of high friction straps.