Synths - Knowledge needed

What's Hot

Sooooooo

Gas has hit, and as always it's hit hard. I was researching gifts for synth players, and came across the Volca Keys (which isn't out here yet), and thought, "Oh, I'd quite like one of those". Upon further consideration, I've "justified" spending a bit more and getting a microkorg.

I am a complete synth/keys novice. However, I know basic chord shapes, and I'm sure I can play some basic leads. PLus my wife played piano as a yoof, so we'll work something out.

The connumdrum I have now is how to set it up. Upon reading lots, it appears that guitar amps simply will not do. And i certainly don't want ot forego the chewy basslines I've got in my head. On Thomann, there's a bundle with the synth and some 3" "production monitors". So I looked into monitors a bit more, and found these

http://www.akaipro.com/product/rpm3

All I'm really going to be doing is playing at home (possibly with a looper), and probably be recording some stuff in GarageBand.

Will the above speakers do a reasonable job, and can I have them hooked up to be output for my synth as well as my Mac?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I'd suggest hearing them first, as I wonder just how well a three-inch speaker cone will produce the bass frequencies you're after.
    You don't need much knowledge of anatomy to appreciate the fundamental ubiquity of opinions.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 34308
    edited December 2013
    Get a bunch of demo's of various soft synths kicking first- with a cheap midi controller (ideally used).

Nothing gets old faster than a 'new' synth sound- and resale goes with it.
    I have a rack of synths from the 1980's that cost THOUSANDS when new and are worth nothing now.

Work out what you need from a hardware synth that you cannot get from a soft synth and then go for it.
    Until then, beware.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom