Boss ES5, midi switchers and effects loops

What's Hot
BintyTwanger77BintyTwanger77 Frets: 2219
I've been pondering MIDI, I am a total noob when it comes to the various switchers out there, so.

Is it possible to have all of your pedals connected up to the ES5, and have some of them going straight into the front of my amp and some of them in the amp's FX loop? If not the ES8, is there a MIDI switcher (that won't break the bank) that allows me to do this?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• professorbenprofessorben Frets: 5105
    I like the GLab stuff as it powers your pedals too. 

Ive got the GSC3
    and I use it for switching channels on my Mesa Preamp, sending midi to my 11rack for delays and verbs, and switching in and out pedals in the front end. 

Ive used it as a 4CM brain before though, you just sacrifice one loop to send the signal to and from your Preamp and out of the FXloop, so an Es-5 would leave you only 4 loops to play with, my GLab has 6 loops.

the main advantage of the Es8 over every other switcher out there (AFAIK except GigRig G2) is the ability to move loop order around from patch to patch  

its not a thing I personally would bother with, as I believe my pedals should be in one order and one order only, but I think you ( judging from your comment history) would appreciate being able to run a Reverb into a Fuzz into a Delay on one song, and then an OD into a Delay into a Reverb on another. 
    " Why does it smell of bum?" Mrs Professorben.
  • I like the GLab stuff as it powers your pedals too. 

Ive got the GSC3
    and I use it for switching channels on my Mesa Preamp, sending midi to my 11rack for delays and verbs, and switching in and out pedals in the front end. 

Ive used it as a 4CM brain before though, you just sacrifice one loop to send the signal to and from your Preamp and out of the FXloop, so an Es-5 would leave you only 4 loops to play with, my GLab has 6 loops.