Solid State Amp for a 7 Year Old?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• TheMarlinTheMarlin Frets: 7864
    Another vote for the Vox DA5. Great little amp, can be had cheap used.  
    I Love the High Gain settings, with all the gain rolled back. It gives a lovely 'edge of breakup -dig in for dirt' tone, a late night 'sleeping child' volumes.  
    Mine runs on rechargeable batteries. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • StageStruckStageStruck Frets: 102
    Roland Mini Cube. Fairly easy controls, plenty loud, runs on batteries or mains, can run a music source through it. I'd have been delighted with something like that when I started learning. I've seen them fairly cheaply second hand too, £30-40. If not the Cube, then a Blackstar Fly3 is a nifty little amp and fantastic value. Again, I'd have loved an amp as good as that when I was first playing. Either of those amps will be used for years to come as he progresses on guitar
  • zepp76zepp76 Frets: 2534
    Does it have to be solid state? There's a Blackstar HT1R in the classifieds, they are great practice amps with a surprisingly good sound.
    Tomorrow will be a good day.
  • uncledickuncledick Frets: 406
    Vox DA-5 - brilliant.  Mine's been gigged, taken to kids' sleepovers, two years at university, and used for recording.  Best £79 I ever spent.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • NeilNeil Frets: 3621
    What about a little Fender Frontman?

Got all the controls he could want and no digital type stuff.

Good basic little amp that can be found for peanuts.
  • FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24601
    edited June 2017
    A Roland Micro Cube GX, which can run on batteries or power supply or a Roland 10GX ... easy to use, great tones and a headphone socket.

https://www.roland.com/uk/products/cube-10gx/

https://www.roland.com/uk/products/micro_cube_gx/

Remember, it's easier to criticise than create!
  • LuttiSLuttiS Frets: 2244