Gig Rig/Rehearsal Rig?

BellycasterBellycaster Frets: 5861
Can you advise me on this please?

I have only one rig, A Bogner Goldfinger 45 Head and 2x12 Cab and a versatile Pedalboard. P.S is halfway down this page link.

Here is my Hypothetical scenario. I join a covers band and get a list of songs to learn, I learn the basic outline(chords/solos) of the songs at home and figure out how I'm going to employ the pedals in each track and practice the changes while playing the song, so I'm also doing the tap dance practice at home, but everything is at Bedroom Level.

So the next step is the practice room with the band, seems logical that if I am a newbie in a band, I should get used to the rig I would be gigging with in the practice room due to thing like, getting used to an amp you haven't played loud before, setting levels on the pedals and also the band may not play the song exactly the same as the record, so the tap dance on the pedals may have to be adjusted slightly.

So when do some of you guys take a lighter rig to rehearse? My Hypothetical scenario doesn't seem to suit a different rig, even if I had one, which I don't.

Is it when you have gigged the setlist time and time again and you can get away with just playing through the songs in practice, knowing that you will confidently adapt to the next gig anyway? I suppose if you don't use pedals, you might take a lighter amp to practice.

The cover band scenario is what I am after and it would revolve around using the PB quite a bit.

Share your input and experience please :-)

Thanks.

Only a Fool Would Say That.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• John_PJohn_P Frets: 2750

Is it when you have gigged the setlist time and time again and you can get away with just playing through the songs in practice, knowing that you will confidently adapt to the next gig anyway? I suppose if you don't use pedals, you might take a lighter amp to practice.