Amp and cab portability/technology

What's Hot
rsvmarkrsvmark Frets: 1382
So last night, our bass players combo died. It was a traditional ampeg combo type unit. A local chap came to the rescue with an Eden amps Nemesis head and a matching EX210 cab. So I have been gigging off and on for over 20 years and my traditional thinking for bass players as far as I am aware is for big cabs, big speakers and large wattage etc. The best bassist I ever played with had a trace Elliot head which weighed a ton and a bloody huge cab (can't remember if it was trace or other but was equally huge) and to be fair was a good sound. This Eden amps rig was utterly brilliant. Clear, clean, powerful, deep bass, and for a gigging musician, it was tiny. The 2x10 cab was half the size of my Marshall, really light and the head was half the weight of mine. I has got me thinking today that bass amp technology may well have moved on a touch. The cab in particular was feather weight. While modelling offers alternatives, cab technology hasn't really moved on? Discuss. To be fair, my perception is that several folks on here have gone to 2x12's or smaller cabs and miking up. Any thoughts?
An official Foo liked guitarist since 2024
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• slackerslacker Frets: 2236
    edited June 2017
    Bass stuff tends to use class d power amps instead of valves with huge transformers and neo speakers instead of alnico or ceramics. This cuts down weight. Some cabs have porting to increase bass in a smaller size.

If you must have valves then weight will be an issue, same with alnico. I have a 2x12 combo that weighs 80 pounds. Sounds awesome. I have a small 15w head and a choice of 1x12 and 2x12 cabs I also have a 4 w combo and a half w head and remap thingy.

All of the above could be replaced with a helix kemper etc.

The choice is yours Google helix and watch some videos
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26579