Total beginner novice newbie

What's Hot
marc1tmarc1t Frets: 0
edited August 2017 in Acoustics
Hi everyone.
I bought an accoustic guitar for my 14 year old daughter who is interested in music but alas not the guitar at the moment.
So I thought i would give it s go maybe it will get her interested?
Dont get me wrong at 54 I dont anticipate being the next Eric Clapton but i love music especially accoustic stuff so it would ne nice to strum a few songs. & maybe even sing, scare those cats away.
The guitar is an Ibanez AEL20E electro/ accoustic bought on ebay for £80 sounds & looks nice even with my potato fingers when i eventually get the chord shape right.
I do know quite a lot about music, scale, rythem etc as i messed about with the bass guitar quite a few years ago.
Any tips from you guys would be great. how much daily practice & what to practice is resspnable? untill then ill just need to un tie my fingures
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• equalsqlequalsql Frets: 6104
    If you are ok with tuning the guitar and you have some chord charts then I can recommend learning to play House Of The Rising Sun by the Animals. It's a great song that introduces you to using a good selection of open chord shapes.
    Am, C, D, F, Am, C, E.  It can be strummed or arpegiatted .
    Check YouTube for examples.

I found one of he tricks to learning is to leave the guitar out, ready at hand to be picked up immediately you get the urge to practise. When practicing, the moment you get frustrated or bored , put it down and walk away from it, you'll go back to it soon enough and it's amazing how a small amount of time away from the guitar makes what you've been trying to play sink in.

(pronounced: equal-sequel)   "I suffered for my art.. now it's your turn"
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11446
    Look at JustinGuitar.  Lots of good stuff.