Weird picks

What's Hot
digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26581
I'm curious...does anybody else use odd/expensive picks?

I have to admit...I've got something of an addiction to Timber Tones stuff. My main picks are their ebony ones (which can last me up to a couple of weeks...expensive habit), but I've also got a few of their bone and mother of pearl ones which come out occasionally. Usually when I've run out of ebony ones...

If you do use anything odd, why? Feel? Tone? Just to show off your bank balance?
<space for hire>
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• steamabacussteamabacus Frets: 1265
    'Addiction' is the right word.  :)
    I've been using Timber Tones for a few years now - definitely worth it. They are easy to re-work with a file to restore the edge/point which extends their life somewhat.

I tried a few and also settled on the African ebony. They've just come up with a new, smaller shape (nearer Jazz III size) and I've picked up a few of those. There's a slight change of tone due to the reduced mass (I'm guessing) - not sure which ones I prefer yet?
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26581
    I've been using Timber Tones for a few years now - definitely worth it. They are easy to re-work with a file to restore the edge/point which extends their life somewhat.
    I really should start doing this. I've got about 100 of the things that I've destroyed.

I'm seriously curious about their Stone Tones, but I'd need some kind of grip on them - I suffer with sweaty-pick-hand-syndrome, so they're guaranteed to slip like mad at a gig. I've asked Rob if there's anything he can do...
    <space for hire>
    That's another thing I do with the ebony ones - drill a series of 'divots' into each surface for grip. I was going to email Timber Tones with the suggestion they could do this as an option but I haven't got round to it.
    It's easy to do, if a little time consuming.
    edited August 2013