Preamps and cab sims for recording.

What's Hot
NeillNeill Frets: 941
As a new member I'm not entirely sure this is the right place for this thread but here goes.

Long story short, I used to play in a covers band, then a combination of factors (one being a nasty accident which mangled the tendons in my left hand) caused me to pack in playing live.  Years have passed and like a lot of folk of my generation I have ear problems so it's very unlikely I'll play in a band again but I still play for my own (and occasionally others) amusement.   

When the band folded I sold most of my gear, which included a nice Yamaha AW4416 HD multitrack recorder.  I've never been entirely happy with DAW's so when I started playing again I replaced the Yamaha with a Zoom R24.  In many respects I wished I had just got another 4416 but that's another story.  Now I'm looking at the options for routing the guitar into the multitracker.

For live stuff I've had a variety of amps always with, at least, a valve preamp. Then when Variax came along I was seduced by the ease of changing keys/tunings/guitar models etc which was wonderful for covers, and eventually I ended up using a Pod XT live straight into the PA.         

I still have the Variax and the Pod, but the old Pod is no good for DI recording, the cabinet simulations are the weak point, IMO.

What I want is a DI solution that gives the "feel" of a valve preamp and when recorded actually sounds like a miked up cabinet.  

I see all sorts of "new" stuff on the market now that professes to do this.  My leaning is towards something like the Two Notes preamp pedals, but it seems that any valve preamp is going to need a dedicated cab simulator.  The cost of a decent preamp and a cab sim is about the same as a Helix which offers a lot more besides...   Or is a proper valve amp and a loadbox a better solution..?