Which exam board?

What's Hot
Hi all

I live in the UK and I'm thinking of taking a guitar exam. I've been playing basic electric rhythm guitar (although I have pro-level keyboard skills) for a long time and I want a structured motivation to improve my playing, as this is mainly a solo hobby. There appear to be three organisations providing exams: Trinity Guildhall, London College of Music and Rockschool. Does anyone have experience of these and could offer advice?

Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Hi I'm a guitar tutor from London and regularly put people through for the RGT exams (Registry of Guitar Tutors accredited by the London College of Music/University of West London). They have 4 different syllabus and are quite good. 

Its broken down into 6 sections:

1. Scales (arpeggios from grade 3 onwards)
    2. Chords
    3. Rhythm Playing (candidate plays through a chord chart seen on the day only)
    4. Lead Playing (candidate improvises to a chord progression, again only seen on the day)
    5. Spoken Tests
    6. Aural Assessments (repetition of rhythm, melodic phrases, pitch, harmony and keeping time).

There are also performance based exams for those who don't want to do the whole scale learning and tests, great for younger learners where all you do is pre-prepare 3 pieces and play them, either on video you can send in, recorded which you also send in or in the exam room if you still want to travel to an exam centre.

There is also a "hybrid" type course which mixes performance with the technical exercises (like scales and tests) so you get a good all-round test.