High quality cables?

What's Hot

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72322
    meltedbuzzbox said:

I've been using fender custom shop cables for over 4 years. At one point they were gigged twice every week for a year solid. They are still absolutely fine. They also have anlife time warranty I believe.
    Lucky for you. I've seen loads of dead ones, as have a lot of other people.

Lifetime warranty is all well and good except when it breaks in the middle of a gig, when it's then a pain, even if you have a spare. And if they replace it, you get another crap cable.

Danny1969 said:
    The Fender custom shop cables I have seen and repaired are terrible in design .... cheap jacks with shit strain relief and the normal crimped tip connector failure point. Covered in heatsink with Fender printed on it. They break all the time in my experience, especially the ones which have the wires cut too short as the strain relief is basically yanking on the solder joint from new .... I saw one fail on it's second gig !!
    Exactly this.

hywelg said:

The best from a usability point of view is a Fender cloth covered cable, it just handles beautifully but sonically it's very average and as @ICBM says, probably suspect construction.if I was going to gig with it I'd swap the ends for Neutrik. 
    The problem is that it's a bugger to do since the Fender cable is so fat it's a struggle to get it into the cable chuck. Worth it though, the cable itself is actually nice.

thegummy said:

Interesting you should say that, the main cable I use is Fender Custom Shop and was planning on buying more. Mine has always been fine but only had it about a year. The plastic has slightly broken but not the electrical connections.

How many, roughly, have you seen that are bad?
    Twenty or thirty probably - that's a lot, given that it's probably as many as all the other modern brands put together. Very noticeably less reliable than any other cable except Planet Waves, which I wouldn't trust either.