Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Existing client recommendation/referral

What's Hot

Comments

• She sounds like the sort of person who would go into a wholesalers and try to buy 1 box for the same rate that you buy a pallet load for.
     Dont de-value your time and knowledge for someone whos a new customer and quite frankly sounds like more trouble than the moneys worth at full price, never mind at a discount.
    Yes, I don't think they seem to understand from next year it'll be 10 years teaching and I hold a degree in professional music performance. To think I considered offering them the same rate as the existing client would be me being nice but I don't think I'm going to do it.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ESBlondeESBlonde Frets: 3588
    If you don' value your time the customer certainly won't. Stand your ground and offer lessons 2-11 at a discounted rate. Tell them if they remain good customers you may well leave the rate low for the future. If anyone deserves a discount it'' existing customer for the referral.
  • Just to remind you, @Lestratcaster - this PITA parent was recommended to you by an existing customer. If the PITA values the opinion of the existing customer, you have nothing to prove regarding your value as a teacher. They haven't come to you because the existing customer said you're cheap - it's because they said you're good. 

Don't reduce your prices one iota to get business. In a service industry (like you are) that is the slippery path to working for free and having to work stacking shelves to make ends meet. You're not selling products that can be produced in high volumes at lower unit costs - every hour you teach is an hour you'll never get back.