Protools first vs reaper

What's Hot
NelsonPNelsonP Frets: 3395
edited January 2018 in Studio & Recording
I've just bought a Focusrite interface.  The bundled DAW is Protools first. You are limited to three projects at once.

Since I'm new to this recording malarkey I'm wondering, should I go down the Protools route, or learn something else like Audacity or Reaper.

I'm only looking to record stuff at home really, plus maybe some jams with a mate.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10405
    Use Reaper, Protools first is awful
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
  • NelsonPNelsonP Frets: 3395
    Thanks Danny. Glad I spent most of last night installing a piece of junk then.

Will the other bundled software also work with Reaper - XLN Addictive drums, Bias amps, Bias FX, Softube time and tone bundle etc.
  • NelsonP said:
    Thanks Danny. Glad I spent most of last night installing a piece of junk then.

Will the other bundled software also work with Reaper - XLN Addictive drums, Bias amps, Bias FX, Softube time and tone bundle etc.

I use loads of VSTs (including XLN Addictive Drums) with Reaper and don't have any problems.
    I think there are quite a few Reaper users on the forum that can offer help if you need it.

It's not a competition.
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10405
    Well it is worth installing for a couple of reasons .... the included Xpand virtual instrument  is superb, it contains loads of great drum kits, pianos, strings and just about everything you need to make professional sounding music. It's an industry standard VI and so good some people just have midi keyboards running that as their keyboard rig, I used to myself

PT is still the best DAW for editing audio quickly, I have PT first on this laptop for certain jobs as it will work with the laptops own built in audio chip wherever my proper PT systems demand firing up dedicated audio interfaces and such