Are some people just born "beat-deaf"?

What's Hot
I'm a guitar tutor and obviously my job is to teach people how to play but I also think its important to help learners "feel" the music as well as read chords and tab, etc etc. Rhythm is a huge part of music and I see so many learners finding it hard to keep the beat, play in time or count bars. They can be really really good at all the widdly lead stuff, but when it comes to reading a basic chord chart or holding down a progressing 4 strums to the bar they fall apart. 

When I ask them to clap along or tap their foot its all off-beats, out of time or speeds up after 2 beats, etc etc.

Surely if you can walk in time you can play in time? Its very hard to walk out of time unless you're stupidly drunk.

Also at gigs I see punters clapping on the off-beats, or not doing it on the "Back-beat" (2 and 4) instead on 1 and 3 or random parts. I have a learner of 5 years who just can't keep in time with music very well and doesn't know when a chord is 1 or 2 bars.
Probably doesn't help he only comes in once a month but he must listen to music in his own time? Or is he not focusing on the "pulse?"
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I think some people don't feel it as obviously as others. Same as being a bit tone deaf only different. Whether it be pitch or rhythm there will be some who require more "training" than others. I reckon that if your learner were given just 20 min of rhythm exercises every day, he would get the hang of it eventually.

PS What do you call couples that practice the "rhythm method"? Parents.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • VimFuegoVimFuego Frets: 15485